Installer "Upgrade Method" screen is inconsistent and assumes too much knowledge of ZFS and FreeNAS
The new Upgrade Method screen (attached) is inconsistent in the terms it uses, assumes ZFS and FreeNAS knowledge on the part of the user, and is not clear about what it will do.
Questions the typical FreeNAS user will ask:
- What is a "boot environment"?
- What is a "dataset"?
- Why does this screen say I can install into a boot environment, but then only offer to "Save old system dataset"?
- What does "Save old system dataset" mean?
- How can I install into a boot environment?
- Won't formatting the disk erase all my data?
- Won't formatting the disk lose my configuration?
- Won't formatting the disk erase all my old boot environments?
- Be clear about the choices here. Do not switch terms. Stick with "boot environment".
- Be specific: not "the disk", but "the boot device".
- Mention that only the boot device will be affected, storage volumes are not touched.
- Mention that user configuration data is preserved even when the boot device is formatted.
- Change the choices to "Install into a new boot environment" and "Format the boot device".
- "Install into a new boot environment" should be the default, as the less destructive option.
- Actually, either way will install into a new boot environment, so maybe "Format the boot device" should just be a checkbox (off by default), and this should just have a Continue button after the user makes that choice.
I can make suggestions on rewording after it is clear what this actually means.
Improve the wording of installing into a new BE vs formatting the
#3 Updated by Kris Moore over 2 years ago
- Status changed from Unscreened to Screened
It should probably be just "Format the Boot Device" or "Install into existing Boot-Environment". It basically means exactly that. First option will wipe the boot device, second will preserve the old boot device setup.
Any thoughts on how to word that into a newbie friendly way?
#4 Updated by Warren Block over 2 years ago
How about this?
dialog --trim --title 'Update Method Selection' --yes-label 'Install in new boot environment' --no-label 'Format the boot device' --yesno 'User configuration settings and storage volumes are preserved and not affected by this step.\n\nThe boot device can be formatted to remove old versions, or the upgrade can be installed in a new boot environment without affecting any existing versions.' 0 0
#6 Updated by Warren Block over 2 years ago
- Status changed from Ready For Release to Unscreened
- Assignee changed from Vaibhav Chauhan to Kris Moore
Kris Moore wrote:
Wording change included, does seem to be a bit clearer now. Thanks Warren!
Thank you. Just two things:
1. There really should be a blank line after the first sentence to separate that thought from the rest of it.
2. The logic in the dialog changed, but the logic in the code has not. So if the user chooses "Install in new boot environment", the next dialog says "This will erase ALL partitions and data on ada0." So the test in the code for what the dialog returns needs to be inverted. (Seen in 9.10.2-154.)