Project

General

Profile

Bug #21437

NFS export is removed when detaching volume even when share configuration is not deleted.

Added by mala kym over 4 years ago. Updated about 4 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Important
Assignee:
William Grzybowski
Category:
OS
Target version:
Seen in:
Severity:
New
Reason for Closing:
Reason for Blocked:
Needs QA:
Yes
Needs Doc:
Yes
Needs Merging:
Yes
Needs Automation:
No
Support Suite Ticket:
n/a
Hardware Configuration:
ChangeLog Required:
No

Description

When detaching a volume, I have selected not to delete the share configuration, and then remove the volumes.

Under Sharing/NFS in the webui the entry is still there (good), but /etc/exports is now missing the line (bad), it was there prior to detaching.

Reimporting volume does not rebuild the /etc/export file.

If I then do another independent task that updates the NFS shares (ie. add a new one, remove a previous entry) the missing webui entry is then written back to /etc/exports.

https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/when-asking-not-to-delete-share-config-nfs-exports-entry-is-deleted-but-webui-does-not.50826/#post-351395

Associated revisions

Revision 09413fc5 (diff)
Added by William Grzybowski over 4 years ago

fix(gui): restart shares on volume import if applicable Ticket: #21437

History

#1 Updated by Bonnie Follweiler over 4 years ago

  • Assignee set to William Grzybowski

#2 Updated by William Grzybowski over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from Unscreened to Screened
  • Priority changed from No priority to Important
  • Target version set to 9.10.3

#3 Updated by William Grzybowski over 4 years ago

if you detach a volume, how /etc/exports missing the line is a bad thing?

#4 Updated by mala kym over 4 years ago

William Grzybowski wrote:

if you detach a volume, how /etc/exports missing the line is a bad thing?

What is the option not to delete the share configuration for then?

When reimporting the volume, the export is not recreated (in /etc/exports, webui still shows)

It is recreated if you make any other change to the nfs shares list after its imported, but not on import.

#5 Updated by William Grzybowski over 4 years ago

Not regenerating after the volume is imported is the issue here.

Removing it from /etx/exports on detach is behaving as correctly IMO.

#6 Updated by mala kym over 4 years ago

William Grzybowski wrote:

Not regenerating after the volume is imported is the issue here.

Removing it from /etx/exports on detach is behaving as correctly IMO.

I'd agree, my title is off and was part of my forum post before where it probably makes more sense.

Because the exports is dropped but the webui is not, it felt like there was a problem there. Doesn't feel right to not have the UI reflect the current status of the system though.

#7 Updated by William Grzybowski over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from Screened to Resolved

#8 Avatar?id=14398&size=24x24 Updated by Kris Moore over 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from 9.10.3 to 11.0

#10 Updated by Vaibhav Chauhan about 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from 11.0 to 11.0-RC

Also available in: Atom PDF