Created an encypted pool should prompt user to backup key immediately
We had a user in the IRC chatroom today who has lost 8TB of data on an encrypted pool because the keys were not backed up.
It's suggested that when creating an encrypted pool, the end user should be prompted to backup their key and make note of their passphrase immediately with a very scary looking warning pop-up when the 'Add volume' button is pushed.
The current pop-up can be too easily dismissed. By checking the 'Encryption' box and quickly hovering over the pop-up and out again causes it to disappear.
When the warning message is displayed, the user cannot continue until the key has been downloaded.
Example message to be displayed:
WARNING! Backup your recovery key now! If the key is lost, the data on the disks will also be lost with no hope of recovery. >>> Click the 'Download Recovery Key' button to download your key <<< This type of encryption is primarily targeted at users who are storing sensitive data and want the ability to remove disks from the pool and dispose of/re-use them without concern for erasure. iXsystems, Inc. can not be held responsible for any lost or unrecoverable data as a consequence of using this feature. +-----------------------+ | Download Recovery Key | +-----------------------+