Project

General

Profile

Bug #31620

Tour should not start by default

Added by Warren Block over 2 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
Done
Priority:
No priority
Assignee:
Warren Block
Category:
GUI (new)
Severity:
Medium
Reason for Closing:
Reason for Blocked:
Needs QA:
Yes
Needs Doc:
Yes
Needs Merging:
No
Needs Automation:
No
Support Suite Ticket:
n/a
Hardware Configuration:
ChangeLog Required:
No

Description

Please change the automatic tour to only appear when the user requests it. It could be a button in the user preferences or anywhere in the gear/settings menu.


Related issues

Related to FreeNAS - Bug #33951: Tour "perference" saved when no preferences were changedClosed

History

#1 Updated by Erin Clark over 2 years ago

  • Assignee changed from Erin Clark to Xin Tan

#2 Updated by Xin Tan over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Unscreened to Screened
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

Yesterday after the meeting I made a new PR made it only shows up once, saved to user attribute:
https://github.com/freenas/webui/pull/608

then since people ask for it:
https://github.com/freenas/webui/pull/613

Also, there is an icon next to the gear menu for the tour, should I put it into Account - Users List - Edit User - Show tour button?

#3 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Screened to In Progress
  • Target version changed from 11.2-BETA1 to Master - FreeNAS Nightlies
  • Needs Merging changed from Yes to No

#4 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Done

#5 Updated by Warren Block over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Done to Unscreened
  • Assignee changed from Xin Tan to Erin Clark

New users still see an automatic tour pop up when looking at Account/Users.

#6 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Unscreened to Failed Testing
  • Target version changed from Master - FreeNAS Nightlies to 11.2-BETA1

#7 Updated by Warren Block over 2 years ago

An easier way to do this would be to change the preference button. Don't have a delayed setting by the user, just make the button "Show User Tour" and have it activate immediately. Then users aren't bugged by it popping up later, and if they want to see it, they don't have to log out to get it (although that didn't seem to work for me).

At this stage of development, we could probably just disable it, and re-enable it for 11.2 or 11.3.

#8 Updated by Warren Block over 2 years ago

Patch to fix backwards logic in Account/Users and remove the "you just closed User Tour!" annoybot: https://github.com/freenas/webui/pull/785/commits/b25859daccab8874ebc984439611972b13a04613

#9 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Failed Testing to In Progress
  • Assignee changed from Erin Clark to Warren Block
  • Needs Merging changed from No to Yes

#11 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Related to Bug #33951: Tour "perference" saved when no preferences were changed added

#12 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Done
  • Target version changed from 11.2-BETA1 to Master - FreeNAS Nightlies
  • Needs Merging changed from Yes to No

Also available in: Atom PDF