There is no "Apply Updates After Downloading" button after clicking the "Check Now" button in the new GUI but there is in the old one
In the old UI when you clicked the Check Now button under System - > Updates it would give you a check box that would allow you to download the update but not apply it yet.
There is no ceck bo, or area, to make that choice in the new GUI
#9 Updated by Vaibhav Chauhan over 3 years ago
in order to complete this ticket following steps are needed to be taken:
1). Implement a checkbox in a dialog which asks user "[ ] Apply updates after downloading (The system will reboot)" when user clicks on `Check now`
2). if user chooses NO for checkbox at step1, the updates files are downloaded at /tmp/<location> with no system reboot.
2.1) `Apply Pending updates` button is then displayed/enabled after step2 is completed
2.2) `Apply Pending updates` can be clicked which displays a message on a dialogbox "Are you sure you want to continue? The system will be rebooted after updates are applied."
2.3) if answer to step 2.2 is yes update the system with the update file downloaded in step2(I need to know API method)
3). `Apply Pending updates` button state is dependent on the existence of updates files are downloaded at /tmp/<location> (I need to know API method)
#10 Updated by Anonymous over 3 years ago
The updater's behavior is a bit different than the old UI one given that it's all one one page but that's okay, some recommended changes to make the new behavior make more sense:
1) rename the Check Now button to Download Update since it now downloads the update instead of doing a simple check.
2) remove reboot and update, this button is no longer necessary since the download update button does that
3) the page should run update.check_nows when the user enters the screen (I believe it already does that) and when the train changes (this will make the result show up automatically if the user changes trains)
4) one last thing, the old UI does not have the user confirm to download update, you might remove the confirm box for this action but leave the update and reboot unchecked so that by default it will just download the update but not reboot (which is safe so no real need to confirm), if the user wants to reboot they can check the box (this action will essentially be it's own "confirm" box