Project

General

Profile

Bug #41784

Default permissions button gets unticked

Added by T W almost 3 years ago. Updated almost 3 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
No priority
Assignee:
-
Category:
GUI (new)
Target version:
Seen in:
Severity:
New
Reason for Closing:
Behaves as Intended
Reason for Blocked:
Needs QA:
Yes
Needs Doc:
Yes
Needs Merging:
Yes
Needs Automation:
No
Support Suite Ticket:
n/a
Hardware Configuration:
ChangeLog Required:
No

Description

If I set under "Sharing/SMB/Edit" and advanced options a checkmark next to default permissions and confirm as well as save it, the next time I open it, the checkmark is gone. Is that expected behaviour? Why use a checkmark then?


Related issues

Related to FreeNAS - Bug #27881: Set the default setting for the SMB -> Sharing -> SMB -> Apply Default Permissions checkbox to checkedDone
Related to FreeNAS - Feature #26964: "Apply default permissions" in SMB share config is confusingDone

History

#1 Updated by Dru Lavigne almost 3 years ago

  • Category changed from OS to GUI (new)
  • Assignee changed from Release Council to Anonymous
  • Target version changed from Backlog to 11.2-BETA3

#2 Updated by Dru Lavigne almost 3 years ago

  • Target version changed from 11.2-BETA3 to 11.2-RC1

#3 Updated by Dru Lavigne almost 3 years ago

  • Related to Bug #27881: Set the default setting for the SMB -> Sharing -> SMB -> Apply Default Permissions checkbox to checked added

#4 Updated by Dru Lavigne almost 3 years ago

  • Related to Feature #26964: "Apply default permissions" in SMB share config is confusing added

#5 Updated by Anonymous almost 3 years ago

  • Status changed from Unscreened to Closed
  • Reason for Closing set to Behaves as Intended

I've discussed this with John and he says that this is behaves as intended, we conclude that we should leave it be as it is the best way to do things right now. Eventually he plans to simplify this part of the UI but it will require some extensive middleware work that is planned for later. The reason this box gets unchecked is because we usually do not want to reset the permissions each time this page is saved, this checkbox should only be used on initial share creation or for special cases.

#6 Updated by Dru Lavigne almost 3 years ago

  • Target version changed from 11.2-RC1 to N/A

Also available in: Atom PDF