Project

General

Profile

Bug #80436

Tooltip for "Sharing > SMB > Edit > Browsable to Network Clients" is very misleading

Added by Sean McBride over 2 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
No priority
Assignee:
Warren Block
Category:
Documentation
Target version:
Seen in:
Severity:
New
Reason for Closing:
Reason for Blocked:
Needs QA:
Yes
Needs Doc:
Yes
Needs Merging:
Yes
Needs Automation:
No
Support Suite Ticket:
n/a
Hardware Configuration:
ChangeLog Required:
No

Description

The tooltip says: "When set, users see the contents of /homes, which includes the home directories of other users. When unset, users only see their own home directory."

Similar text here:
https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.2/sharing.html#windows-smb-shares

Based on this description, I turned it off, because I don't have/want any network homes, and even if I did I'd only want each user to see his own. But I do want network shares. It seems without this checkbox turned on, the share cannot be connected to at all (at least from macOS). Took me a while it figure that out!

It's almost as if the checkbox title makes sense, and the tooltip is totally wrong or copy-pasted from something else...

History

#1 Updated by Dru Lavigne over 2 years ago

  • Category changed from GUI (new) to Documentation
  • Assignee changed from Release Council to Warren Block
  • Target version changed from Backlog to 11.2-U4

#2 Updated by Jaron Parsons over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Unscreened to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF